North West

North West is an electoral district of the Legislative Assembly of Western Australia.

The district was based in the rural north-west of Western Australia. It is a marginal seat.


Originally known as North West Coastal, the district was first created for the 2005 state election, incorporating territory from the abolished districts of Burrup and Ningaloo. The seat was won by Labor MP, and then member for Burrup, Fred Riebeling.

The district was expanded for the 2008 state election, incorporating more inland territory which resulted in the name change to North West. With Riebeling's decision to retire, the contest pitted Labor MP Vince Catania, then a member of the Legislative Council, against Liberal candidate, and former Ningaloo MP, Rod Sweetman, with Catania emerging victorious. On 20 July 2009, Catania announced his decision to leave the Labor Party to join the rival National Party.[1]


Based in the remote north west of Western Australia, the district includes the towns of Carnarvon, Coral Bay, Cue, Dampier, Denham, Exmouth, Karratha, Meekatharra, Mount Magnet, Onslow, Roebourne, Wickham and Yalgoo.


North West Coastal (2005–2008)
Member Party Term
  Fred Riebeling Labor 2005–2008
North West (2008–present)
Member Party Term
  Vince Catania Labor 2008–2009
  National 2009–present


Go to top